REPORT OF OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 16 MAY 2005

Chair: * Councillor Jean Lammiman

Councillors: * Blann * Myra Michael (1)

* Bluston * Osborn
* Gate * Pinkus
* Mitzi Green * Thammaiah
* Ann Groves (3) Versallion

* Denotes Member present

(1) and (3) Denote category of Reserve Members

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

289. Appointment of Chair:

RESOLVED: To note the appointment under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 1.1 (xii) at the Annual Council Meeting, held on 12 May 2005 of Councillor Jean Lammiman as Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06.

290. Attendance by Reserve Members:

RESOLVED: To note the attendance of the following duly appointed Reserve Members:-

Ordinary Member Reserve Member

Councillor Mark Ingram Councillor Ann Groves
Councillor Seymour Councillor Myra Michael

291. **Appointment of Vice-Chair:**

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Gate as Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06.

292. **Declarations of Interest:**

RESOLVED: To note that no declarations of interests were made in relation to the business on the agenda.

293. **Arrangement of Agenda:**

RESOLVED: That all items on the agenda be considered with the press and public present.

294. Minutes:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 26 April 2005 be deferred until the next ordinary meeting of this Committee.

295. Establishment of Sub-Committees 2005-06:

Further to the nominations now submitted by the political Groups in relation to this Committee's Sub-Committee memberships and the proposed appointments as Chairs of the Sub-Committees, as then considered, it was,

RESOLVED: That the Scrutiny Sub-Committees be established for the Municipal Year 2005/06 with the memberships and Chairs as detailed in the appendix to these Minutes.

296.

Accessibility of Part II Documents:
The Chair agreed to accept an item of Any Other Urgent Business in the above matter.

A Member raised the issue of rights of Members of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee to have access generally to reports held by the Executive. In particular this related to a confidential report commissioned from Mr Max Caller. Following a brief discussion, it was

RESOLVED: That (1) this issue be deferred to the Committee's ordinary July meeting to enable the receipt of an officer report regarding both the general constitutional rights of access afforded Members and also in relation to the specific confidential report;

- (2) a Special meeting of the Committee be called on this matter, if required by the urgency associated with the particular report;
- (3) the Monitoring Officer be requested to attend the meeting(s).

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.35 pm, closed at 6.56 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR JEAN LAMMIMAN Chair

APPENDIX

SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEES

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

<u>Labour</u> <u>Conservative</u> <u>Liberal</u> <u>Democrats</u>

(1) ENVIRONMENT AND ECONOMY SUB-COMMITTEE (7)

(4)

I. Blann (CH) Arnold Knowles Miles Seymour Anne Whitehead

II.1. Dharmarajah1. John NickolayReserve
Members2. Ann Groves2. Janet MoteMembers3. Mrs R. Shah3. Vina Mithani4. Thammaiah

(2) HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SUB-COMMITTEE (7)

(4)

<u>I.</u>
<u>Members</u>
Bluston (CH)
Ann Groves
Lavingia
Mrs R. Shah
Myra Michael
Vina Mithani
Joyce Nickolay

II.1. Blann1. Jean LammimanReserve2. Mitzi Green2. PinkusMembers3. Toms3. Mary John4. Gate4. Gate

Adviser (Non-Voting):-

Jean Bradlow - Director of Public Health, Harrow Primary Care Trust

(3) LIFELONG LEARNING SUB-COMMITTEE (11)	
---------------------------------------	----	---	--

(5) (5) (1)

Mary John Jean Lammiman **Nana Asante** (Vacant) Members Gate Mitzi Green (CH) **Janet Mote Kinsey** John Nickolay **Omar** Osborn 1. Blann 1. Vina Mithani Lavingia
 Anne Whitehead
 Dharmarajah Reserve 2. Anjana Patel **Members** 3. Mrs Bath 4. Kara

Voting Co-opted Members:

5. Mrs R. Shah

Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector (1)

5. -

- Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece
Two representatives of Parent Governors (2 year appointments 2002/03 – 2003/04:- Mr H. Epie (Primary)/Mr R. Sutcliffe (Secondary) (2)

(4) STRENGTHENING COMMUNITIES SUB-COMMITTEE (7)

(4) (3)

Dharmarajah **Janet Cowan Members** Gate Vina Mithani Lavingia Seymour Thammaiah (CH)

1. Toms 1. Osborn Reserve 2. Kara 2. Lent 3. Ann Groves 3. Anjana Patel Members 4. Mrs R. Shah

(5) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)

(3) (2)

Jean Lammiman Members Mitzi Green (CH) Osborn **Thammaiah** 1. Blann 1. Seymour 2. Versallion 2. Ann Groves Reserve 3. Mrs R. Shah 3. Romain Members